top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabelle Reads

"The Hunger Games" Book Review


Ratings:

Book Rating: ★★★★★

If This Book Was a Movie Rating: PG-13


Review:


Did it take fifteen years, four (almost five) movies, twenty million pop culture references, and an infinite amount of teasing from all of my friends before I finally picked up this book?


maybe.


hey I’m a tough cookie what can I say.


However, setting aside my inexcusable stubbornness, I was absolutely missing out. I have no notes. If you're like me, and haven't read this before, I honestly would recommend going in as blind as you possibly can. The books and movies are obviously ridiculously popular, and I'm sure you haven't avoided every spoiler, but I would still go in without reading any more blurbs or reviews. There is a certain magic to these characters, a sense of realism that rarely materializes in dystopian and young adult fiction. There is pain and grit and raw emotion, and Suzanne Collins handles it all like a master. We have all certainly seen stories like this before, but this one doesn't feel trite or overly dramatic. It feels matter-of-fact. Almost as if Collins is holding up a mirror to everyday horrors and telling us to stare them straight in the face. It was a brutal, beautiful masterpiece.


I don't think I'm ever going to forget this book.




Friend me on Goodreads (yes, you, I wanna be your friend): https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/136268749-isabelle


Buy this book:


Recommendations If You Liked This Book:

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page